Wednesday, March 23, 2011

Sade collected

We're back online, mes chattons! After our brief sojourn to the UK, we've returned to find out that the ever elusive Sade will return with new material just over a year after her last studio longplayer, "Soldier Of Love".

"The Ultimate Collection", released on May 9 to coincide with her world tour, collects 29 soulful gems from across the Sade oeuvre. No word on weather the much sought after single versions will appear on the compilation. However, the double disc will feature three new recordings - "Still In Love With You", "Love Is Found" and "I Would Have Never Guessed" - plus a jacked up remix of "The Moon And The Sky" with dubious rap mogul Jay-Z. Yawn.

If they wanted some serious attention to this collection, the Ben Watt remix of "By Your Side" should have been slotted into the tracklisting at some point.

One of the tracks, "Still In Love With You", is a rather understated cover of a Thin Lizzy tune.

The following is the official tracklisting for "The Ultimate Collection".

CD 1

1. Your Love Is King
2. Smooth Operator
3. Hang On To Your Love
4. The Sweetest Taboo
5. Is It A Crime
6. Never As Good As The First Time
7. Jezebel
8. Love Is Stronger Than Pride
9. Paradise
10. Nothing Can Come Between Us
11. No Ordinary Love
12. Kiss Of Life
13. Feel No Pain
14. Bullet Proof Soul

CD 2

1. Cherish The Day
2. Pearls
3. By Your Side
4. Immigrant
5. Flow
6. King Of Sorrow
7. The Sweetest Gift
8. Solider Of Love
9. The Moon And The Sky
10. Babyfather
11. Still In Love With You
12. Love Is Found
13. I Would Never Have Guessed
14. The Moon And The Sky (Remix featuring Jay-Z)
15. By Your Side (Neptunes Remix)

Take a look at the cover art. Ms. Sade has never looked more sultry. All that time away from the studio has been kind to her.


  1. Amen to "By Your Side." It's in my top 5 all-time favorite remixes. Ben Watt needs to get out and mingle a little more. Debating whether I'm going to try and catch the tour this summer with John Legend, but it sounds like it could be good.

  2. Not bad - just wish they would have fleshed out side 1 with some added album cuts.

  3. Nice to have new songs, but why, oh why, is so much of Soldier of Love featured? It's barely a year old, so why didn't they do a deluxe version and just add those new songs? Either way, it's a cash grab.

  4. So right, the Ben Watt version (it feels like more than just a mix) kept Sade relevant for me!
    Also missing, although it would never see the legitimate light of day I suppose, is the house remix of Pearls which was the 2am track at Shelter and Sound Factory for months back when it surfaced.

  5. I gotta have this collection NOW -- it's been too long since I've heard her 80's stuff. Here's to hoping for the single mixes. And yeah, gotta second the vote for the "Pearls" remix even though Sade herself has filed it under "Keep Dreaming, Queens."