Sunday, December 25, 2011

let me take you dancing

As another year comes to a close, the music market settles down for a brief period of time which allows for a few new releases to gain some maximum impact before the new year kicks in. It's an old marketing trick from way back.

This year's smash hit hopeful is "Tonight In Babylon" by Loverush UK! featuring Bryan Adams. It's not scheduled for a full release until February. So, it's being given an upfront promo push in order to capitalize on the quiet space in the calendar.

Oh yes, the gravel voiced, Canadian rocker is back, back, back! And he's no stranger to the dance and trance crowd. Cast your minds back to the summer of 1999 when Bryan teamed up with Chicane for "Don't Give Up", a bonafide dance classic. I believe the technical terms is "choon".

Please pass the poppers!

I supposed Mr. Adams is looking for a bit of a resurgence. If his new, room booming dance anthem is anything to go by, perhaps his next album should feature a more synth and rhythm combo. It's something he hasn't really attempted on a full longplayer. What has he got to lose?

Sunday, December 11, 2011

singled out

After a decade of singles and five longplayers, Goldfrapp have parted with Mute, the label they called home since their debut. To mark the occasion, Alison and Will are about to release the appropriately titled, "The Singles".

Featuring a meager twelve singles and two new recordings, "The Singles" gives a cursory overview of the duo's magnificent history. However, it's beyond comprehension why overlooked gems such as "Caravan Girl", "Pilots (On A Star)", "Twist", "Fly Me Away" and "I'm Alive" have not made the cut, especially when there is plenty of room on the disc for their inclusion.

The super lush and blissed out "Yellow Halo" is the first of two new tracks to be released from "The Singles" which hearkens back to the sound of "Seventh Tree". And that's not a bad thing, mes chattons! They've even managed to lense a little vid for the tune which is accompanied by a stunning set of visuals. Let's check it out.

"Melancholy Sky", which Goldfrapp performed live on their last tour, is the second of two new songs. "The Singles" will hit the "shops" on February 6. The following is the official tracklisting.

1. Ooh La La
2. Number 1
3. Strict Machine (Single Mix)
4. Lovely Head
5. Utopia (Genetically Enriched)
6. A&E
7. Happiness (Single Version)
8. Train
9. Ride A White Horse (Single Version)
10. Rocket
11. Believer
12. Black Cherry
13. Yellow Halo
14. Melancholy Sky

Monday, December 5, 2011

simply Christmas

As the Simply Red moniker is put to rest in mothballs, Mick Hucknall appears in his solo guise for only the second time.

"Happy This Christmas" is a brand new single and the first festive release of any kind for Mr. Hucknall. It's a jaunty, jolly tune with a soaring chorus and all the hallmarks that make a great song for the season.

Since, Mr. H has some cash to splash courtesy of the Simply Red royalty treasury, he's seen to it that a suitably festive video was lensed for the song.

"Happy This Christmas" will be hit the "shops" on December 12.

Saturday, December 3, 2011

once more with feeling

In six, short years, The Feeling have manged to release three longplayers and nearly a dozen cracking singles. Their blend of ELO meets Squeeze with a touch of ABBA melancholy has been well received by fans and the casual music consumer.

Now, on the back of the release of a new version of "Rosé" for the Burberry Body marketing campaign, the epitome of the band as brand concept, The Feeling have seen fit to issue their first singles retrospective.

The tracklisting for "Singles (2006-2011)" features all eleven of the band's singles plus two favorites and the new recording of "Rosé" wrapped up in one convenient package.

1. Fill My Little World
2. Sewn
3. Never Be Lonely
4. Love It When You Call
5. Rosé
6. Strange
7. I Thought It Was Over
8. Without You
9. Turn It Up
10. Join With Us
11. Set My World On Fire
12. A Hundred Sinners (Come And Get It)
13. Leave Me Out Of It
14. Rosé (Unplugged at Abbey Road for Burberry Body)

Would've been nice to have a companion DVD in a limited edition set. Although, I love each of the singles housed within the collection, I can't help but feel there is a whiff of ye old bargain bin about the entire affair. The cover art is dreadful. Could The Feeling be down the dumper as "Smash Hits" used to say?

No matter, I still have a soft spot for the lads. And I'm a lucky ticket holder for their Christmas gig in London on December 21.

In the meantime, let's check out Dan Gillespie Sells and co. as they run through eight of their singles in eight minutes for our amusement.

Huzzah! Who doesn't love a megamix or a medley? "Singles (2006-2011)" will hit the "shops" on December 5.