Monday, June 25, 2012

the winner takes it all

"Winner" is the first official single lifted from "Elysium", the forthcoming, eleventh longplayer from Pet Shop Boys. The single will have its world premiere next Monday morning, July 2, on BBC Radio 2 in the UK between 9.30am and 12.00pm.

Later that day, the track will become available for purchase from iTunes. On August 6th, the single will be released on CD which will feature three bonus tracks.

Additionally, it will be available as two digital bundles, both of which will include bonus tracks and remixes. All of it nicely timed to coordinate with this year's Olympic games. Smart lads!

Like the rest of the elpee, "Winner" was produced in Los Angeles by Andrew Dawson and Pet Shop Boys. Fire up the old victrola, guys and gals!

Thursday, June 14, 2012

peeling back the years

It's nearly impossible to believe that Bananarama are about to celebrate the 30th anniversary of their debut single, "Aie A Mwana".

It was three decades ago, three, disheveled street urchins walked into the studio with two members of the Sex Pistols and started a journey of international chart success. But, in these days of digital downloads and file sharing, who needs another bloody compilation?

Well, ver Rams have put something together that have their fans drooling. "30 Years Of Bananarama" is a two disc collection with a bit of a twist. 

Firstly, can we just mention how yawnsome the title of the collection is. It leaves us a bit cold? But I suppose it does what it says on the tin.

That aside, the collection features one disc of singles. Not such a mind blowing concept. All the usual suspects make their appearances. However, the second disc, a DVD, is where the magic lives. This is not any ordinary DVD. It features EVERY music video Sarah and Keren have committed to celluloid. Huzzah!

For once, a label and a group get it right. I'm delighted that the videos for two of my favorite 'Nana hits will finally appear on DVD. I'm sure you're dying to know what they are. Here's the reveal...

Bananarama get a bit political with "Rough Justice".

The ladies go baggy and reference The Rolling Stones on "Only Your Love", the lead single from "Pop Life", the only album that featured Jacquie O'Sullivan and the last one with ver Rams as a trio. I still run around and smash things when I this one surfaces on my iPod.

Interestingly, neither "Rough Justice" nor "Only Your Love" made big splashes on the charts. The tracklisting for "30 Years Of Bananarama" DVD features the following music videos.

1. Really Saying Something
2. Shy Boy
3. Cheers Then
4. Na Na Hey Hey Kiss Him Goodbye
5. Cruel Summer
6. Robert De Niro's Waiting
7. Rough Justice
8. Hotline To Heaven
9. The Wild Life
10. Do Not Disturb
11. Venus
12. More Than Physical
13. A Trick Of The Night
14. I Heard A Rumour
15. Love In The First Degree
16. I Can't Help It
17. I Want You Back
18. Love Truth & Honesty
19. Nathan Jones
20. Help
21. Only Your Love
22. Preacher Man
23. Long Train Running
24. Tripping On Your Love
25. Movin' On
26. Last Thing On My Mind
27. More More More
28. Every Shade Of Blue
29. Take Me To Your Heart
30. Move In My Direction
31. Look On The Floor
32. Love Comes
33. Love Don't Live Here
34. Venus (12" Version)
35. I Can't Help It (12" Version)

That's a whopping THIRTY FIVE videos. Kudos to Sarah and Keren for getting it right. Now, let's hope they've used the highest quality sources when compiling this.

"30 Years Of Bananarama" will hit the "shops" on July 9.

Monday, June 11, 2012

invisible touch

Pet Shop Boys are ready to return to the pop landscape this September with "Elysium", their eleventh longplayer and the follow up to "Yes". The elpee was produced in Los Angeles by Andrew Dawson and ver Boys. The first track to be previewed from the album is “Invisible”.

An arty video has been produced to accompany the gorgeous, languid, sparsely produced, electronic number. It was made by renowned Los Angeles artist and filmmaker, Brian Bress. Let's have a look.


Incroyable! It reminds me of a visual mash up between David Band, the artist who designed album covers for Spandau Ballet and Altered Images, and Philippe Decouflé, who directed the videos for "True Faith" by New Order and "She Drives Me Crazy" by Fine Young Cannibals.

Sonically, the song feels a bit like Messrs. Tennant and Lowe have revisited the days of their much vaulted "Behaviour" album. Not a bad thing. Some of the chord changes sound a bit like the inspiration was plucked from "Being Boring", one of that elpee's many highlights.

PSB are planning another trek around the globe next year in support of the forthcoming album.

Friday, June 8, 2012

the sound of music

The mighty Saint Etienne are about to unleash, "I Got Your Music", the second single from their brand new longplayer, the unwieldy titled "Words And Music By Saint Etienne".

It's another jaunty, synthy number which shimmers with all the dancefloor euphoria they whipped up for their previous platter, "Tonight".

The 12" single and digital download configurations feature one remix each from Golden Filter and Leo Zero, as well as "Dominion Tiles", a previously unreleased track.

The 7" single is backed with a demo of "Lullaby" which was recorded during the sessions for their current elpee.

Unfortunately, an old school extended version is not on the cards. Such a shame since the extended excursion of "Tonight" was such a gorgeous treat.

 "I Got Your Music" will hit the "shops" on June 25. A full review of their beautiful, new longplayer will follow shortly.