Saturday, April 30, 2011

master of puppets

When Depeche Mode announced they were going to release another album featuring remixes and reworkings of tracks from across their substantial catalog, I must admit that I could barely muster up an indifferent yawn.

However, after listening to some of the selections from "Remixes 2: 81-11", it's clear there is a lot of life in the electro goth gods.

Norwegian electronic duo, Röyksopp, have turned in a gorgeously understated reswizzling of "Puppets", a track buried within DM's debut longplayer, "Speak & Spell". A youthful and nearly unrecognizable vocal from Dave Gahan is laid over a shimmering and beautiful crafted, handclappy rhythm track. Dozens of tasty synth lines keep the mix interesting throughout. This should be the sound of summer 2011.

Also, the nearly epic, Eric Prydz remix of "Never Let Me Down Again" is sure to go down a storm at your local discotheque. Based around the song's familiar guitar figure, the track is just itching to break into the full song. I'm not a fan of dubs, but this one ranks highly in my book.

That said, I'm not sure why they decided to release a new slate of remixes for their iconic track, "Personal Jesus", as the first single from the project. "Puppets" would have made a more interesting choice.

"Remixes 2: 81-11" will be released on June 6 in the usual fan friendly, wallet draining set of configurations including a single disc version, a triple CD edition and massive, six vinyl LP box set.

Saturday, April 16, 2011

same old scene

Sophie Ellis-Bextor's long awaited, often delayed, fourth longplayer, "Make A Scene", is about to hit the "shops" on Monday, April 18. Fans in the UK will have to wait until June 6 to get their hands on it.

Why the extended delay? This album has been bouncing around the release schedules for the better part of the last eighteen months. I'll believe it's actually coming out when I have a copy of it in my hot, little hands.

The tracklisting for "Make A Scene" features the following fourteen tracks.

1. Revolution
2. Bittersweet
3. Off & On
4. Heartbreak (Make Me A Dancer)
5. Not Giving Up on Love
6. Can’t Fight This Feeling
7. Starlight
8. Under Your Touch
9. Make A Scene
10. Magic
11. Dial My Number
12. Homewrecker
13. Synchronised
14. Cut Straight To The Heart

"Starlight", produced by Richard X, will be the next single from La Bex.

Thursday, April 7, 2011

light and love

In a surprise move, it appears Sony are going to release a FIFTH single from Hurts' debut longplayer, "Happiness". Is this 1985?

"Illuminated" is scheduled to be released as a double a-side with "Better Than Love" at the beginning of May. You might recall that "Better Than Love" was the first, official single from Theo and Adam.

Sadly, upon first release, "Better Than Love" could only manage a lacklustre placing on the UK singles chart at #50. Honestly, the mixes weren't terribly exciting. However, fresh from their blinding reswizzling of Hurts' "Wonderful Life", Freemasons are having a go at "Better Than Love" along with Death In Vegas and Burns.

Now, let's step it up a notch, lads. Issue that Paul Van Dyk remix of "Sunday" and you will have a blindingly good single on your hands. If not that, at least put together one of those deluxe editions of the album that the labels are so fond of throwing out to a disinterested public. I would actually purchase that one! Make it happen!

Monday, April 4, 2011

opera lover

Recently, on my little sojourn to the cloudy climes of London, I ran into Tracey Thorn at the local Starbucks. What are the chances? I was struck by how funny, warm and lovely she is. You'll be pleased to know she was rocking a rather fetching, purple, down parka.

During our brief, caffeinated encounter, I mentioned I planned on purchasing her next single as soon as it was made available. And as if by magic, "You Are A Lover", released as a translucent green, limited edition 10" single, has been made available to purchase today from the Strange Feeling website.

The tracklisting includes the dubby Clock Opera Remix of "You Are A Lover" on the a-side with the original mix and her gorgeous cover of Sufjan Stevens' "Sister Winter" featured on the flipside. Order your copy now, kittens!