Monday, February 7, 2011

modern art

Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark has revealed the tracklisting for "History Of Modern (Part I)", the third single to be delicately plucked from the retro electro duo's current longplayer.

In a gloriously bold and quite right-minded move, the limited edition, twelve track digipak CD single will not only feature a clutch of fine remixes of the track, it will also include ALL of the b-sides which have appeared across the vinyl formats of the previous two singles, "Sister Marie Says" and "If You Want It".

As a bonus, Andy and Paul have slapped on their cover of "VCR" which was originally recorded by The xx. It's a stellar single package that shows OMD are listening to their fervently devoted fanbase. Huzzah and a champagne clink!

The following is the full, official and complete tracklisting for "History Of Modern (Part I)".

1. History Of Modern (part I)
2. History Of Modern (part II)
3. History Of Modern (part III & IV)
4. History Of Modern (part I) (Krystal Klear Remix)
5. History Of Modern (part I) (Roger Erickson Remix
6. History Of Modern (part I) (Selebrities Remix)
7. History Of Modern (part I) (OMD's Extended Remix)
8. History Of Modern (part I) (Remix Radio Edit)
9. VCR
10. The Grand Deception
11. Idea 1
12. Alone

OMD will crash upon US shores in March. We'll be visiting Andy and Paul backstage before the NYC show which has been moved from Webster Hall to Terminal 5 in order to accommodate a larger, loving audience.


  1. Yow! At 12 tracks, none dare call it a single! It's nice to see that OMD don't give a wet slap about the BPI's 20 minute limit to be considered as a single for the charts!! As an OMD collector who only has the colored vinyl releases of the first two singles, I'm excited to see all of those B-sides in the physical, digital realm. There have been so many tracks/mixes from HOM that were download only, I'm having a hard time keeping up. And that whole "download only in this territory" bollocks steams my collector's brain to no end! I've got to put my pre-order in this weekend on the official store [though you had better believe that I'm still acting on that 10"].

  2. The fact that "HOM P1" is getting an OMD extended version is absolutely glorious.

  3. What an exciting experience!/Hilarious! Delightful! True!/wonderful stuff! thank you!
    Modern Art