Sunday, February 21, 2010

it's only love

Simply Red are no stranger to compilations, especially after a 25 year career which has seen them collect their hit singles on two separate occasions. Now, Mick Hucknall and co. are about to issue their first authorized collection of their favorite love songs on the aptly titled "Songs Of Love".

In yet another move which has seen the band buck traditional distribution avenues, "Songs Of Love", which will be released in the UK on February 28 in order to coincide with Mother's Day, will be exclusively available through Tesco.

Fans will want to pick up this clutch of songs which includes "I Have The Love", a brand new track specially recorded for this collection. It also features "Beside You", which Mick Hucknall originally contributed to the soundtrack to the film, "What Dreams May Come". It has been rerecorded for inclusion here.

The full tracklisting for "Songs Of Love" features the following, twelve tunes:

1. Say You Love Me
2. You Make Me Feel Brand New
3. Stars
4. You’ve Got It
5. For Your Babies
6. If You Don’t Know Me By Now
7. It’s You
8. Beside You
9. Holding Back The Years
10. Smile
11. I Have The Love
12. Ev’ry Time We Say Goodbye

Expect the band to promote this album and their recent hits retrospective, "25", as they continue to add dates to their never ending, farewell tour.


  1. interesting how tesco are now the starbucks of exclusive distribution. i expect to see more of these with acts like michael bolton, celine dion, boyzone, etc... hopefully they will eventually take a gamble on new artists too?! Wouldn't that be something!

  2. That's tacky as hell! But yes, at least Tesco SELLS records.

    My favorites here are Say You Love Me and For Your Babies

  3. @xolondon - I wonder if you get a free box of PG Tips with every purchase. Now THAT would be a marvelous promotion.