Friday, January 25, 2013

delta dawn

"Delta Machine" is lucky thirteen for Depeche Mode. Their new longplayer, the long awaited follow up to their twelfth studio effort, "Sounds Of The Universe", will be preceded by "Heaven" which will be made available across two CD singles and digital download on February 1.

Many fans were hoping for a reunion with sound craftsman Alan Wilder. However, their dreams have been dashed upon the rocks. Ben Hillier sat in the knob twiddler's seat for "Delta Machine" just as he did for DM's two, previous albums. On paper, this doesn't do the lads any favors where their detractors are concerned. However, they have promised an album which treads along some new sonic ground.

"Delta Machine" will be released as a standard CD and the now obligatory, fan gouging deluxe edition. The following is the tracklisting for the thirteen track version of the album.

1. Welcome To My World
2. Angel
3. Heaven
4. Secret To The End
5. My Little Universe
6. Slow
7. Broken
8. The Child Inside
9. Soft Touch / Raw Nerve
10. Should Be Higher
11. Alone
12. Soothe My Soul
13. Goodbye

The deluxified version of the album includes four bonus tracks tagged on to the end of it.

1.  Long Time Lie
2.  Happens All The Time
3.  Always
4.  All That’s Mine

"Heaven", the first single lifted from "Delta Machine" will be available in two CD configurations. For some odd reason, the band recycle "All That's Mine" from the deluxe edition of the album on the two track CD single instead of serving up a non-album b-side which renders that CD a completely unnecessary purchase. The five track CD single features "Heaven" alongside four remixes of the track.


  1. "Obligatory, fan gouging deluxe edition" should be heretofore shortened to OFGDE since we'll be using this acronym for a while, methinks.

  2. I understand we will hear some familiar open string guitar work famously used on Music For The Masses and Violator. Just don't say it's a blues album...