Saturday, February 23, 2013

walking on broken glass

With a career spanning nearly 35 years, Simple Minds are dipping their collective toes into the retrospective waters once again. "Celebrate", a brand new greatest hits compilation, will hit the shops on March 25 in the UK. It will be made available in two flavors - the red sleeve will feature two CDs of singles for the casual buyer and a fan friendly three CD version will sport a gray cover. The collection will wash up on US shores two months later.

The set spans the band's entire career from their early, post-punk efforts from the late 1970s through to their imperial period throughout the 1980s and early 1990s and onward into their independent years.
Throughout the expansive track selection, you can hear the diverse range of material which has been inspired by punk, the artier side of glam, as well as funk and disco. Just listen to the Moroder-esque "I Travel" or the alternately rubbery and chunky rhythm sections on "Promised You A Miracle" and "Sweat In Bullet", the latter making a few passing glances at Japan with JK giving his best Jim Morrison delivery.

"Celebrate" also features three newly recorded songs exclusive to this collection. "Blood Diamonds" and "Broken Glass Park" are added to the end of the double disc version, while the triple disc adds “Stagefright" which was released as a free download in 2011.

The moody and majestic "Broken Glass Parker" sees Jim Kerr and co. revisit many of the signature sounds they have explored over the years.

"Celebrate" is yet another phase in the rebranding and repackaging of Simple Minds. By the sound of things, Jim Kerr and Charlie Burchill are ready to The collection will be commemorated by a world tour and also marks a reversal in the band's fortunes. After their slide from international superstardom, they were often remembered as an overblown, stadium act mostly derided by being wrongly compared (IMHO) to U2.

Although, they freely admit they cashed in a bit when worldwide domination came knocking at their door in the shape of "Don't You (Forget About Me)" from John Hughes' 1985 teen drama "The Breakfast Club".

Now, they are looked upon as part of the vanguard of visionaries who inspired many bands from Manic Street Preachers to Muse. Even the titans of dance music have namechecked Simple Minds over the last decade and a half. Take a listen to the often-sampled "New Gold Dream (81/82/83/84)" which, oddly enough, was never released as a single.

The full, three CD edition of "Celebrate" chronicles Simple Minds' journey through 50 singles and assorted key tracks.


CD 1

1. Life In A Day
2. Chelsea Girl
3. Changeling
4. I Travel
5. Celebrate
6. The American
7. Love Song
8. Sweat In Bullet
9. Theme From Great Cities
10. Promised You A Miracle
11. Glittering Prize
12. Someone Somewhere (In Summertime)
13. New Gold Dream (81/82/83/84)
14. Waterfront
15. Speed Your Love To Me
16. Up On The Catwalk

CD 2

1. Don’t You (Forget About Me)
2. Alive And Kicking
3. Sanctify Yourself
4. All The Things She Said
5. Ghost Dancing
6. Promised You A Miracle (Live)
7. Belfast Child
8. Mandela Day
9. Biko
10. This Is Your Land
11. Kick It In
12. Let It All Come Down
13. Let There Be Love
14. See The Lights
15. Stand By Love
16. Real Life

CD 3

1. She’s A River
2. Hypnotised
3. Glitterball
4. War Babies
5. Space
6. Jeweller To The Stars
7. Dancing Barefoot
8. Cry
9. Spaceface
10. One Step Closer
11. Home
12. Stranger
13. Stay Visible
14. Rockets
15. Stars Will Lead The Way
16. Stagefright
17. Blood Diamonds
18. Broken Glass Park


  1. Broken Glass Park is wonderful. It's the sound of the current Simple Minds appreciating the singularity of their own musical history.

  2. Anyone who knows me, knows that my love for this band knows no bounds, even as I chastise them for '85-'94. The first seven albums are simply an unbeatable arc of artistic development, in my view. I listen to this band more now than I did even back in the day! But how many comps do they have now? I should do a post on all of them with a comparison/contrast.