Monday, May 28, 2012

going for the gold

It has been a few insanely crazy weeks at So Hip It Hurts HQ. Now that some of the dust has settled, let's get back to the business of music!

New York’s very own house music impresario, David Morales, has teamed up with Róisín Murphy on a new single titled “Golden Era”.

It has been quite some time since David graced the dancefloors with an original track. Thankfully, he has chosen one of our favorite artists as his collaborator on his new tune which bares a passing resemblance to the sound of Róisín's previous musical outfit, Moloko. Not a bad thing in our books!

“Golden Era” is the first single to be taken from David Morales' forthcoming longplayer, "Changes", is scheduled to hit the "shops" on June 19. Personally, I can't wait to spin this slinky, sexy number for a roomful of nocturnal inhabitants.

Meow! Do I detect the presence of cat claws? Is the appearance of "The Future" in the video a dig at Calvin Harris? Things that make you go "Hmmm...". And where is that long rumored follow up to "Overpowered", Lady Murphy? Get cracking! Your adoring public awaits.

don't drop bombs

Kylie Minogue, everyone's favorite Aussie pop rocket, blasts back into outerspace with her brand new single, "Timebomb". Please note the compound word structure.

 After only being on sale for a few days, "Timebomb" crashes into the UK singles chart a number 31. Impressive!

Not sure about the slightly low budget nature of the accompanying video clip which was shot recently on the streets of Soho in glorious, glamorous London.

The release of the new single is part of a year of special events to celebrate Kylie's 25th year in the music business which has become affectionately known as K25. In the last twelve months Kylie has performed a stripped down tour of b-sides and rarities, presented a beautiful set of orchestrally arranged hits at Abbey Road Studios and delivered a gorgeously produced DVD of her blockbuster "Aphrodite" show.

Next up is the release of "The Best Of Kylie Minogue", an 18 track retrospective which will hit the "shops" in the UK on June 24. However, "Timebomb" will not feature on this single disc retrospective. She is a sly little kitten. Perhaps there are more surprises in store from Ms. Minogue?

Well, for one thing, the diminutive pop atarlet has just finished a in the French art film, "Holy Motors", which was directed by Leos Carax. It stars Denis Lavant as a man who travels between multiple parallel lives. The film competed for the Palme d'Or at this year's 2012 Cannes Film Festival. Apparently, Kylie turns in a very moving and tearful performance.

Check out the trailer below which includes a brief snippet of "Who Were We?", a new song Kylie recorded for the film. The song was written by none other than Neil Hannon of The Divine Comedy. I am now obsessed with getting my Google dirty hands on the soundtrack which hasn't been given a release date yet.

a mark of vintage brilliance

Today, marks the release of "Brilliant", the first, new Ultravox album by the classic Midge Ure line up in 26 years.

The first single is the title track and it has all the hallmarks of the expansive, cinematic choruses of their biggest hits without sounding like a pastiche.

There are just enough contemporary elements to make it sound current. But it's the chiming piano figure that gives it a similar, elegiac quality of singles like "Dancing With Tears In My Eyes" and Midge Ure's biggest solo hit, "If I Was". My only criticism is that Midge's vocal in the verses sounds a bit disconnected and scratchy as compared to the grand beauty of his delivery in the chorus.

By the sound of the 30 second snippets on their website, it sounds like chunky, galloping basslines and giant swaths of synths are the order of the day. And it makes me realize The Killers have listened to more than their fair share of Ultravox albums in their time.

The tracklisting for "Brilliant" contains the following twelve tracks.

1. Live
2. Flow
3. Brilliant
4. Change
5. Rise
6. Remembering
7. Hello
8. One
9. Fall
10. Lie
11. Satellite
12. Contact

I wonder if there is any significance regarding the use of all single word titles. Suggestions of a cocktail napkin, please.

Ultravox are gearing up for their first tour since they reunited for a few dates back in 2009. Laptops at the ready, gents! Looking forward to seeing them back on the road to support their new longplayer.

Friday, May 11, 2012

reach out and touch faith

Lovely lass, Paloma Faith, returns with "Picking Up The Pieces", the first single from her forthcoming sophomore effort, "Fall To Grace".

Thankfully, it's not a cover of the Average White Band hit. Instead, it's another grand and gorgeous affair accompanied by an equally stylish video.

Paloma gives it some church! Clearly, the label believes in Lady Faith since they splashed some serious cash on the vid.

Great to see Paloma move her image slightly forward as she was in danger of becoming a caricature of herself toward the end of the promotion for her debut elpee, "Do You Want The Truth Or Something Beautiful?" Rather than falling into art deco retro, she's taken some of the elegance from the era, added a dash of 60s swinging London to it and topped it off with some contemporary styling. And I'm sure it's not lost on her fans that the melting wax figure at the end of the video for "Picking Up The Pieces" might be her way of putting her old school Hollywood glamor look behind her.

All in all, it's a strong step forward. With the legendary Nelle Hooper in the producer's chair, "Fall To Grace", which hits the "shops" on May 28, stands to be on of this year's mighty pop releases.

Friday, May 4, 2012

the K25 celebration continues

Everyone's favorite Aussie pop rocket, Kylie Minogue, continues her K25 celebration by releasing another hits collection.

"The Best Of Kylie Minogue", a single CD retrospective, will hit the "shops" on June 4 and contains 18 top five UK singles including five number ones. The chart toppers include "Can’t Get You Out Of My Head", "Slow", "Spinning Around", "Tears On My Pillow" and "I Should Be So Lucky".

A deluxe edition of the collection will feature a DVD which will include all the corresponding videos.

Arguments and hair pulling will surely be had when you realize songs like "Shocked", "Hand On Your Heart" and "What Do I Have To Do" have been left off in favor of tracks like "Get Outta My Way", "Red Blooded Woman" and "Wow".

Here’s the full tracklisting for "The Best Of Kylie Minogue".

1. Can’t Get You Out Of My Head
2. Spinning Around
3. I Should Be So Lucky
4. Love At First Sight
5. In Your Eyes
6. Kids
7. Better The Devil You Know
8. All The Lovers
9. Give Me Just A Little More Time
10. Celebration
11. Slow
12. Red Blooded Woman
13. I Believe In You
14. On A Night Like This
15. Confide In Me
16. Get Outta My Way
17. The Loco-Motion
18. Tears On My Pillow
19. Wow
20. In My Arms
21. Never Too Late

And seriously. "Celebration"? Oy.

The timing is a little questionable. Shouldn't this have been released around the time of Lady Minogue's Anti Tour? However, Kylie is scheduled to headline this year’s BBC Proms In The Park on Saturday, September 8 in London's Hyde Park.