Wednesday, September 5, 2012

sax and violins for Kylie

As if by magic, only a day after the interwebs were swarming with excitement about it, Kylie Minogue revealed details of "The Abbey Road Sessions". It's a brand new album featuring sixteen reworked Kylie classics in an orchestral stylee. Whoop!

Actually, my initial thoughts on the subject of Kylie recording orchestral renditions of her biggest hits was less than enthusiastic. Seriously? Nobody really needs this. But upon hearing a few of the online teasers, I change my opinion and decided the lush treatments really suit la petite Minogue at this point in her career.

So, with lavish praise, I'm pleased to present the official tracklisting for "The Abbey Road Session", which, by the way, were recorded at the legendary Abbey Road Studios. Natch!

1. All The Lovers
2. On A Night Like This
3. Better The Devil You Know
4. Hand On Your Heart
5. I Believe In You
6. Come Into My World
7. Finer Feelings
8. Confide In Me
9. Slow
10. The Locomotion
11. Can't Get You Out Of My Head
12. Where The Wild Roses Grow
13. Flower
14. I Should Be So Lucky
15. Love At First Sight
16. Never Too Late

Nice, career spanning collection. Apparently, Nick Cave rerecorded his vocal on their famous duet, "Where The Wild Roses Grow", especially for this special collection. Sadly, it doesn't include my favorite Kylie tune, "Put Yourself In My Place". Oh, well. A boy can dream.

"The Abbey Road Sessions" will hit the "shops" on October 29. As previously mentioned, it will be preceded by "Flower" as a single.

1 comment:

  1. Now, which Love At First Sight are they talking about? The single taken from Fever or the album track closing Kylie?

    ;-) I know the answer should be obvious (the former should be right), but I've always found Kylie's lack of control about her repertoire truly upsetting.