Monday, September 16, 2013

the swing of things

On October 18, Robbie Williams will be back in the swing of things with his brand new longplayer, "Swings Both Ways". He's a cheeky lad! It's a frothy melange of covers and originals which are sure to bring a smile to your face and swivel to your wrist.

Not sure why RW has decided to return to the well a second time. His most recent longplayer, "Take The Crown", was favorably received. However, it almost feels like he's treading on the past glories of his immensely popular platter, "Swing When You're Winning", from 2001. Still, the new album looks like loadsafun even if I can't stand the sight of Michael Bublé who joins Mr. Williams for a duet. I'll be skipping through that track, thank you very much.

You'll be able to choose from two colorful varieties of the elpee. There is the standard version which includes thirteen tracks. Then, if you prefer a full calorie serving of Robbie, you can splash your cash on the deluxe edition which features sixteen tunes and four bonus videos.

Here's a little preview of what you can expect.

As you will note, there are a few guest stars in the ranks including Olly Murs, Lily Allen, the previously mentioned Mr. Bublé, the overwrought and overrated Kelly Clarkson, as as the wit and wisdom of Rufus Wainright. Oh, that Robbie is such a gay baiter. Still, Rufus is an inspired choice of duet partners. Additionally, some of the originals have been written with past collaborator Guy Chambers, which would've been exciting news about ten years ago.

The following is the tracklisting for the standard version of "Swings Both Ways".

1. Shine My Shoes
2. Go Gentle
3. I Wan'na Be Like You (featuring Olly Murs)
4. Swing Supreme
5. Swings Both Ways (featuring Rufus Wainwright)
6. Dream A Little Dream (featuring Lily Allen)
7. Soda Pop (featuring Michael Bublé)
8. Snowblind
9. Puttin' On The Ritz
10. Little Green Apples (featuring Kelly Clarkson)
11. Minnie The Moocher
12. If I Only Had a Brain
13. No One Likes a Fat Pop Star

The additional tracks on the deluxified edition of the album include "Where There's Muck", "16 Tons" and "Wedding Bells". These songs feature alongside four bonus videos, one for each of the duets.

1 comment:

  1. Wow! Now that's synchronicity! I just knocked on the neighbor's door last weekend and she was blasting some music loudly. When she opened the door it sounded like overamped Sinatra and she described it as one Michel Bublé, whom I hadn't even heard of prior. Who is he? The New Fake Sinatra®? Is that why you can't stand Me. Bublé? How I hated the Old Fake Sinatra®, the callow and deeply cynical Harry Connnick, Jr.! In fact, I could not remember his name so I searched on the phrase "Sinatra Wannabee" ha HA! Nice suit on that cover, by the way.