Saturday, July 28, 2012

Elysium eleven

The cover art and release dates for "Eylsium", the eleventh studio longplayer from Pet Shop Boys, has been revealed. Huzzah!

It will likely be their last album to feature the Parlophone logo as Universal has made the decision not to use the long standing, iconic British label their acquisition of EMI has been completed.

Above, you will see the sleeve for the standard version of "Elysium". At the bottom of this post is the artwork for the limited edition, two CD edition. The second CD will be a continuous mix of the instrumentals of each track on the album. A double vinyl configuration will be issued, as well. That analog flavor will also include the instrumentals. However, no word yet on whether the tracks will be separated or mixed.

The artwork, as always, has been designed by ver Boys' long-standing visual partner, Farrow. As always, simplicity allows the artwork to stand out among the Photoshopped wasteland. They look a bit like a pair of Ibiza chill out compilations. N'est-ce pas?

The release dates for "Elysium" are a bit scattered. It will be released in Japan on September 5. Germany and most of Europe will be able to purchase it on September 7. It will hit the "shops" in the UK, France and across South America on September 10. September 11, where the album will appear on Astralwerks, is scheduled for release on September 11. Mark your calendars!

If you're part of the digital download persuasion, then the iTunes edition of "Elysium" my be your cup of tea. As a bonus, it will feature the videos for "Winner" and "Invisible" as well as track-by-track commentary of Neil and Chris discussing the music with David Walliams.

The official tracklisting of "Elysium" features the following twelve songs.

1. Leaving
2. Invisible
3. Winner
4. Your Early Stuff
5. A Face Like That
6. Breathing Space
7. Ego Music
8. Hold On
9. Give It A Go
10. Memory Of The Future
11. Everything Means Something
12. Requiem In Denim And Leopardskin